Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier

“A fast-paced, razor-sharp thriller that is impossible to put down. Jennifer Hillier is a stunningly-talented author and Wonderland is her best yet.”
~ Mark Edwards, Amazon bestselling author

 

 

 

WONDERLAND BY JENNIFER HILLIER

Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hillier’s “fine knack for creating hideous killers” (Booklist) is vividly on display.

Welcome to Wonderland. By day, it’s a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheel—the oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwest—fills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe it’s the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe it’s the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Or…maybe it’s the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

Vanessa Castro’s first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny town’s main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employee—whose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morning—is missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement park’s dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killer’s twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hillier’s bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.

 

A review from Sue C. from Goodreads.com

Having read Creep, Freak and LOVING them and then being a bit disappointed with The Butcher, I was eager to read Jennifer Hillier’s new thriller novel, “Wonderland”. I was not disappointed…this novel is another winner!

Wonderland is the ideal location to disclose a chilling thriller. Living in Toronto, it brings back so many childhood memories of Ferris wheels, cotton candy, carnival music, and the House of Horrors with its creepy characters. The setting is the amusement park in Seaside, Washington, in the Pacific Northwest, but it could be anywhere.

The cover drew me in and gave me the creeps, and starting stirring up all kinds of past memories. So many secrets and dark pasts.

Wonderland, home of the giant Wonder Wheel, the Clown Museum, The House of Horrors, the Wax Museum and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls…but that is not all as there is…there is a dead, rotting body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

“Weren’t dolls just miniature replicas of little girls? …they looked like dead little girls.”

Vanessa Castro, the new Deputy Chief, has just left Seattle, with her two children, John-John, seven and her fourteen year old daughter, Ava, to start a new life, and new job in Seaside.

And what happens on her first day of work. A decomposed body of a homeless man is found with his face eaten off left under the Wonder Wheel. But that isn’t all! A teenage rebel employee, an “Urban Free Climber”, climbed up the Wonder Wheel, took a selfie that went viral, and now is MISSING.

Vanessa determines there are a number of young boys, all blonde, age eighteen, all worked at Wonderland, have gone missing over the last eight years. Vanessa and her team must unravel the mystery, and hunt down the serial killer.

Did I figure out the ending? No! I was shocked with the ending, although it was there for the reader to solve. One of the characters in her first two books makes an appearance in this book, so I would suggest you read the books in sequence, so you are not disappointed that you know his fate.

I loved this book and am rating it a 4 and not a 5, because I feel the book could have lent itself to a slightly darker side…but that is just my personal choice.

Thanks to NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for a free advance download of Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier.

Read this book for Halloween!

Buy it at your local bookstore or online.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s