[GiveAway] Win a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge

Well, TechQuark is at it again with another giveaway, this time with a Samsung galaxy s7 Edge. What? You read that correctly, with the huge response with there earlier giveaway of a Nexus 6p, they decided to do another one. The rules are the same but this time there is a way to earn a few extra points everyday, just return everyday and click for your daily entrance points. The contest ends June 1st, so make sure you keep track for your chance to win!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

The Galaxy S7 Edge versus Apple’s iPhone 6S Plus, the LG G5 and the Google Nexus 6P.

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge LG G5 Apple iPhone 6S Plus Google Nexus 6P
Display size, resolution 5.5-inch; 2,560×1,440 pixels 5.3-inch, 2,560×1,440 pixels 5.5-inch; 1,920×1,080 pixels 5.7-inch; 2,560×1,440 pixels
Pixel density 534ppi 554ppi 401ppi 515ppi
Dimensions (Inches) 5.9 x 2.9 x 0.3 in TBA 6.2×3.1×0.29 in 6.3×3.1×0.28 in
Dimensions (Millimeters) 150.9 x 72.6 x 7.7 mm TBA 158x78x7.3 mm 159x78x7.3 mm
Weight (Ounces, Grams) 5.5 oz; 157 g TBA 6.8 oz; 192 g 6.3 oz; 178 g
Mobile software Android 6.0 Marshmallow Android 6.0 Marshmallow Apple iOS 9 Android 6.0 Marshmallow
Camera 12-megapixel 16-megapixel, 8-megapixel wide 12-megapixel 12.3-megapixel
Front-facing camera 5-megapixel 8-megapixel 5-megapixel 8-megapixel
Video capture 4K TBA 4K 4K
Processor 2.15GHz + 1.6GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapgradon 820 processor Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 processor Apple A9 chip (64-bit) 2GHz eight-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 810
Storage 32GB, 64GB (varies by region) 32GB 16GB, 64GB, 128GB 32GB, 64GB, 128GB
RAM 4GB TBA 2GB 3GB
Expandable storage 200GB 2TB None None
Battery 3,600mAh (nonremovable) 2,800mAh (removable) 2,750mAh (nonremovable) 3,450mAh (nonremovable)
Fingerprint sensor Home button Home button Home button Back cover
Connector Micro-USB USB-C Lightning USB-C
Special features Curved screens, water resistant Pull-out battery, two rear cameras 3D Touch interface “Pure” Android
Price off-contract (USD) AT&T: $795, Sprint: $750, T-Mobile: $780, Verizon: $792, US Cellular: $780 TBA $749 (16GB); $849 (64GB); $949 (128GB) $499 (32GB); $549 (64GB); $649 (128GB)
Price (GBP) £639 TBA £619 (16GB); £699 (64GB); £789 (128GB) £449 (32GB); £499 (64GB); £579 (128GB)
Price (AUD) AU$1,249 TBA AU$1,229 (16GB); AU$1,379 (64GB); AU$1,529 (128GB) AU$899 (32GB); AU$999 (64GB); AU$1,099 (128GB)

Rules & Regulations

The contest closes on June 1st, 2016.

The contest is managed by Gleam, and the winner would be picked randomly by the same.

The result provided by Gleam, would be final and binding.

Each entry of the winner would be checked manually, to confirm if he has completed the steps properly. In case of any irregularity with the entry, another winner would be picked up. No gaming the system, no cheating!

We’ll be monitoring the entries. Winner would be notified by eMail.

The contest is open to all geographic locations and shipping would be done by us.

You can complete few entries daily to earn more points, keep a check on them. Each point you earn will be counted as a unique entry, the more points you earn the better your chances are to win. In short, try to complete as many steps as you can in the widget below; but it is not necessary to complete all steps.

Good Luck!

Advertisements

The Sunday Spotlight: Writer Kelly Thompson

 

“As I write, I discover where it wants to go and this can be a very long process. I often write in fragments, almost never in chronological order, and, at some point, I begin stitching the pieces together, kind of like making a quilt.” Laurie Easter chats with Kelly Thompson about memoir writing.

 

 

Source: The Sunday Spotlight: Writer Kelly Thompson

Michael Simms: A Note from the Editor on the Vagaries of Publishing Poetry on the Internet

Veteran poet, editor, and Vox Populi publisher Michael Simms reflects on the challenges of bringing an ancient, change-resistant form like poetry to today’s predominant medium: the fast, flat, fragmented internet.

 

Source: Michael Simms: A Note from the Editor on the Vagaries of Publishing Poetry on the Internet

Shared from WordPress

What I’ve Learned From 28 Brilliant Creators – http://wp.me/p2fX5E-1bW

25 New Books by African Writers You Should Read

There has never been a better time than right now to be a reader of African literature, especially in the United States (historically, an underdeveloped nation

Source: 25 New Books by African Writers You Should Read

The Alone

Ann WJ White

I work in my garden, alone,
But for bees that communicate 
Satisfaction with my efforts. 

The neighbors whisper and watch, 
Looking for an error, a stagger, 
Never once caring for more than gossip. 

I live alone in a house of people, 
Never noticed, never seen, 
The dust is my intimate friend. 

I watch the sunset from my window, 
Its golden light illuminating my 
Loneliness, I wish and dream. 

I had a friend once, 
He as golden as the sun. 
He left like all the others, without a storm. 

He was beautiful, rich, 
Filled with ideas to make the world better. 
As my world collapsed in tears, he left. 

Gold sunshine will return at sunset, 
Not always there, but returning 
To give me a kiss of hope. 

The neighbors will talk, and 
I will freeze Like a rabbit before the fox. 
Let them talk, I am deaf to them now.

discover-badge-circle.png (February…

View original post 2 more words

Words in Pockets

Ann WJ White

I have a word in my pocket, 
Joggling my mind, filling my empty shoes. 
Don’t be too quick to rectify a word, 
The brain teases you along.
I had to use a tacky glue to bring cohesion to my mind,
Indolently lazy, I surf the pages of my dictionary, 
Proofing my new words, giggling when I find obscurity.
Enthralled with words my life passes my reflection 
In an uncanny reflection of my mother.
Some might wish to know whether my dreams are real,
But I just dance the moments I have, 
Swayed by laughter and good friends.

View original post

Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier

“A fast-paced, razor-sharp thriller that is impossible to put down. Jennifer Hillier is a stunningly-talented author and Wonderland is her best yet.”
~ Mark Edwards, Amazon bestselling author

 

 

 

WONDERLAND BY JENNIFER HILLIER

Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hillier’s “fine knack for creating hideous killers” (Booklist) is vividly on display.

Welcome to Wonderland. By day, it’s a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheel—the oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwest—fills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe it’s the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe it’s the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Or…maybe it’s the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

Vanessa Castro’s first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny town’s main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employee—whose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morning—is missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement park’s dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killer’s twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hillier’s bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.

 

A review from Sue C. from Goodreads.com

Having read Creep, Freak and LOVING them and then being a bit disappointed with The Butcher, I was eager to read Jennifer Hillier’s new thriller novel, “Wonderland”. I was not disappointed…this novel is another winner!

Wonderland is the ideal location to disclose a chilling thriller. Living in Toronto, it brings back so many childhood memories of Ferris wheels, cotton candy, carnival music, and the House of Horrors with its creepy characters. The setting is the amusement park in Seaside, Washington, in the Pacific Northwest, but it could be anywhere.

The cover drew me in and gave me the creeps, and starting stirring up all kinds of past memories. So many secrets and dark pasts.

Wonderland, home of the giant Wonder Wheel, the Clown Museum, The House of Horrors, the Wax Museum and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls…but that is not all as there is…there is a dead, rotting body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

“Weren’t dolls just miniature replicas of little girls? …they looked like dead little girls.”

Vanessa Castro, the new Deputy Chief, has just left Seattle, with her two children, John-John, seven and her fourteen year old daughter, Ava, to start a new life, and new job in Seaside.

And what happens on her first day of work. A decomposed body of a homeless man is found with his face eaten off left under the Wonder Wheel. But that isn’t all! A teenage rebel employee, an “Urban Free Climber”, climbed up the Wonder Wheel, took a selfie that went viral, and now is MISSING.

Vanessa determines there are a number of young boys, all blonde, age eighteen, all worked at Wonderland, have gone missing over the last eight years. Vanessa and her team must unravel the mystery, and hunt down the serial killer.

Did I figure out the ending? No! I was shocked with the ending, although it was there for the reader to solve. One of the characters in her first two books makes an appearance in this book, so I would suggest you read the books in sequence, so you are not disappointed that you know his fate.

I loved this book and am rating it a 4 and not a 5, because I feel the book could have lent itself to a slightly darker side…but that is just my personal choice.

Thanks to NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for a free advance download of Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier.

Read this book for Halloween!

Buy it at your local bookstore or online.

Movie Review: “The Boy”

Is it a spoiler to refer to the coda of thriller “The Boy” as the clumsiest cop out in recent horror history?

Source: Movie Review: “The Boy”

The Big Idea: Charlie Jane Anders

Source: The Big Idea: Charlie Jane Anders